View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:54 pm

Forum rules

Forum disabled

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1 post ] 
Arena Essex Raceway - Meeting 10/38 
Author Message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 102
Post Arena Essex Raceway - Meeting 10/38
1300cc Stock Cars Supreme Championship
Rookie Bangers
Outlaw Hot Rods

Outlaw Hot Rods
Ross Ayling was declared the 2010 Driver's Champion for the Outlaw Hot Rods in the final meeting of the season at Arena Essex, though the margin between him and second place Gary Stow made it only a theoretical possibility that Stow might have won. Not that this meant that Stow didn't try for it, getting a heat and final double in wet conditions.

Ayling took an early lead in the first race but was caught out by the conditions as Stow and Stu Hammond battled with Ayling for the front of the race, Ayling spinning out on the exit to turn four. The race was left to Hammond and Stow with Chris Rabbitt making an appearance and pinning down third place after failing to get the outside line on Stow midway through the race. Stow had an easy win in the second heat, his three rivals battling at some distance behind though this time Ayling kept his direction and held off Hammond with Rabbitt fourth. The final actually seemed to be a matter of formality early on as Stow made the best of his pole position while second spot again became the bone of contention. The real action didn't occur until the very last bend when Rabbitt found the line to take him right up to second place, leaving it up to the computer to split Hammond and Ayling as they finished too close to call. The result left Ayling in third with Hammond fourth, Terry Bell the only other finisher.

1300cc Stock Cars
Controversy ruled the 1300cc Stock Cars during their season climax, the Supreme Championship. Raced to the favoured "New Zealand" style rules which gives the overall title to the highest point scorer over three heats, the eventual title went to Darren Pratt, but not before a lot of discussion resulting from actions in the closing stages of the final heat.

The first heat was won well by Karl "Blacknuts" Douglas who made a surprise appearance in this meeting, finishing comfortably ahead of Paul Hunter and Danny Wade who had been scrapping with Clark Wells through most of the race until spun to the centre while Billy Sandford, also close to the front at one point, was taken sideways by Nick Langley and Mitchell Terry out of turn two. As for the second heat, it was a case of more of the same with Darren Pratt took a late lead ahead of Hunter and Wade, a couple of hits in the corners not enough to take Pratt out of the winning position. The big argument, however, started with action in the third and final heat. With the points close enough to allow a win for Pratt, Wade or Hunter, the race was coming down to its final lap when Hunter finally caught Pratt and tried to pass. Along with him, Lagley was also moving up fast. Ahead of them, however, was Ian Beaumont who, at this point, was trailing the field although he was now assured of the overall Driver's Championship. As the action swept around the pit bend, Beaumont was swept up with it and, with Pratt and Hunter outside him, Beaumont ran wide to the fence, all three crashing there, allowing Langley to cross the line with no opposition.

Although mass protests ensued from a number of sources, the final decision was that the result stood as the cars crossed the line. There was no argument about Langley's win in the race, the overall result of the race was delayed until well after the meeting had finished. In the end, it was decided to let the result stand as it was, though this was not greeted by everyone as the right decision. Pratt had recovered following the crash to finish in fourth place while Hunter failed to finish having taken some damage, the overall points giving the title to Pratt ahead of Douglas and Hunter.

Rookie Bangers
This was a meeting that certainly started well, with heat wins for Andy Freeman and Alfie Lee with plenty of racing and wrecking. The final, however, was overshadowed by infield conflict as a result of Jamie Batchelor being jacked by Dean Andrews and, a little later, by heat one winner Freeman. The steward intervened as tempers flared on the infield, though no penalties were officially announced. The win in the final went to Bill Standing who came home ahead of Colin Burnham. The Destruction Derby was voided following an incident by the pit gate which involved Robert Haines having to be cut from his car, the incident involving a big, two way shunt that ended in the wall.


Event Win 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
1. Rookie Bangers Heat 1 916 Andy Freeman 195 518 199 355 914 901 NOCR
2. Outlaw Hot Rods Heat 1 8 Stu Hammond 126 68 280 89 12 NOCR
3. 1300cc Stock Cars Heat 1 752 Karl Douglas 783 733 711 631 717 772 635 374 786
4. Rookie Bangers Heat 2 577 Alfie Lee 929 244 962 268 207 655 61 420 960
5. Outlaw Hot Rods Heat 2 126 Gary Stow 280 8 68 NOCR
6. 1300cc Stock Cars Heat 2 631 Darren Pratt 783 733 669 374 711 677 717 713 635
7. Rookie Bangers Final 105 Bill Standing 244 207 61 962 268 941 NOCR
8. Outlaw Hot Rods Final 126 Gary Stow 68 280 8 277 NOCR
9. 1300cc Stock Cars Heat 3 669 Nick Langley 752 717 631 677 374 635 789 713 772
10. Rookie Bangers Destruction Derby Race void

Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:09 pm
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 1 post ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.